ACCT 505 Midterm Exam (New) Set 2
This Tutorial was purchased 6 times & rated No rating by student like you.
This Tutorial contains following Attachments
- ACCT 505 Midterm Exam (New) Set 2.docx
Multiple Choice 10 9
Question 1. Question : (TCO A) The variable portion of advertising costs is a
Student Answer: Conversion YES... Period NO.
Conversion YES .... Period YES.
Conversion NO.... Period NO.
Conversion NO.... Period YES.
Question 2. Question : (TCO A) A cost incurred in the past that is not relevant to any current decision is classified as a(n)
Student Answer: period cost.
None of the above
Question 3. Question : (TCO A) Property taxes on a company's factory building would be classified as a(n)
Student Answer: variable cost.
Question 4. Question : (TCO C) Within the relevant range, variable costs can be expected to
Student Answer: vary in total in direct proportion to changes in the activity level.
remain constant in total as the activity level changes.
increase on a per-unit basis as the activity level increases.
increase on a per-unit basis as the activity level decreases.
None of the above
Question 5. Question : (TCO B) Which of the following statements is true?
I. Overhead application may be made slowly as a job is worked on.
II. Overhead application may be made in a single application at the time of completion of the job.
III. Overhead application should be made to any job not completed at year end in order to properly value the work in process inventory.
Student Answer: Only statement I is true.
Only statement II is true.
Both statements I and II are true.
Statements I, II, and III are true.
Question 6. Question : (TCO B) A job-order cost system is employed in those situations when
Student Answer: many different products, jobs, or batches of production are being produced each period.
manufacturing involves a single, homogeneous product that flows evenly through the production process on a continuous basis.
the product moves from department to department before being completed.
the unit cost of production is computed by dividing the total production costs by the number of units produced.
Question 7. Question : (TCO B) The FIFO method only provides a major advantage over the weighted-average method in that
Student Answer: the calculation of equivalent units is less complex under the FIFO method.
the FIFO method treats units in the beginning inventory as if they were started and completed during the current period.
the FIFO method provides measurements of work done during the current period.
the weighted-average method ignores units in the beginning and ending work-in-process inventories.
Question 8. Question : (TCO C) The contribution margin ratio always increases when the
Student Answer: fixed expenses increase.
fixed expenses decrease.
variable expenses as a percentage of net sales increase.
variable expenses as a percentage of net sales decrease.
Question 9. Question : (TCO C) Which of the following would not affect the break-even point?
Student Answer: Variable expense per unit
Number of units sold
Total fixed expenses
Selling price per unit
Question 10. Question : (TCO D) Under variable costing,
Student Answer: inventory costs will be lower than under absorption costing.
inventory costs will be higher than under absorption costing.
net operating income will always be lower than under absorption costing.
net operating income will always be higher than under absorption costing.
Question 1. Question : (TCO A) The following data (in thousands of dollars) have been taken from the accounting records of Larden Corporation for the just-completed year.
Purchases of raw materials $170
Direct labor $225
Manufacturing overhead $220
Administrative expenses $180
Selling expenses $140
Raw materials inventory, beginning $90
Raw materials inventory, ending $80
Work-in-process inventory, beginning $30
Work-in-process inventory, ending $20
Finished goods inventory, beginning $100
Finished goods inventory, ending $70
Prepare a Schedule of Cost of Goods Manufactured statement in the text box below.
Question 2. Question : (TCO B) The Florida Company manufactures a product that goes through three processing departments. Information relating to activity in the first department during June is given below.
Question 3. Question : (TCO C) Drake Company's income statement for the most recent year appears below.
Sales (45,000 units) $1,350,000
Less: variable expenses 750,000
Contribution margin 600,000
Less: fixed expenses 375,000
Net operating income $225,000
Question 4. Question : (TCO D) The Hampton Company produces and sells a single product. The following data refer to the year just completed.
Selling price $450
Units in beginning inventory 0
Units produced 25,000
Units sold 22,000
Variable costs per unit:
Direct materials $150
Direct labor $75
Variable manufacturing overhead $25
Variable selling and admin $15
Fixed manufacturing overhead $275,000
Fixed selling and admin $200,000
Write a reviewOrder Id
Order Id will be kept Confidential
Rating: A B C D F
Enter the code in the box below:
ACCT 505 Course Project 2 Hampton Company Capital Budgeting Decision Hampton Company: The production department has been investigating possible ways to trim total production costs. One possibility currently being examined is to make the cans instead of pur..
Question : (TCO D) Return on investment (ROI) is equal to the margin multiplied by 2. Question : (TCO D) For which of the following decisions are opportunity costs relevant? The decision to make or buy a needed part The desision to keep or drop a product line (A) Y..
COURSE PROJECT 1 INSTRUCTIONS You have just been contracted as a budget consultant by LBJ Company, a distributor of bracelets to various retail outlets across the country. The company has done very little in the way of budgeting and at certain times of the year has experienced a shortage of c..
1. Question : (TCO A) Wages paid to an assembly line worker in a factory are a 2. Question : (TCO A) A cost incurred in the past that is not relevant to any current decision is classified as a(n) 3. Question : (TCO A) Depreciation of office buildings and office equ..
Springfield Express is a luxury passenger carrier in Texas. All seats are first class, and the following data are available: Number of seats per passenger train car 90 Average load factor (percentage of seats filled) 70% Average full passenger fare $160 Average variabl..
1. Question : (TCO F) For which situation(s) below would an organization be more likely to use a job-order costing system of accumulating product costs rather than a process costing system? 2. Question : (TCO F) Process costing would be appropriate for each of the following ex..
Top Switch Inc. designs and manufactures switches used in telecommunications. Serious flooding throughout the state of Tennessee affected Top Switch’s facilities. Inventory was completely ruined, and the company’s computer system, including all accounting records, was destroyed. Before the u..
Week 1DQ 1 Cost Terms, Classifications, and Behavior Week 1DQ 2 Research and Application Week 2DQ 1 Job Order and Process Costing Systems Week 2DQ 2 Research and Application Week 3DQ 1 Variable Costing and CVP Concepts Week 3DQ 2 Research and Application Week 4DQ 1 Budgeti..
ACCT 505 Final Exam ..
ACCT 505 Week 1-7 All Discussion Questions ACCT 505 Week 1 Case Study ACCT 505 Week 2 Quiz Job Order and Process Costing Systems ACCT 505 Week 2 Quiz Set 2 ACCT 505 Week 3 Case Study II ACCT 505 Week 4 Midterm Exam ACCT 505 Week 5 Course Project 1 LBJ Company (New) ACC..
Score 144/150 Multiple Choice 10 Essay 4 1. (TCO A) Direct material cost is a part of (Points : 6) Conversion Cost NO.... Prime Cost NO. Conversion Cost YES......
(TCO E) Preparing purchase orders is a(n) (Points : 5) batch-level activity. product-level activity. unit-level activity. organization sustaining activity. 2. (TCO G) Given the following data, what would ROI be? Sales $70,000 Net oper..
Set 2 1. (TCO C) Madlem, Inc., produces and sells a single product whose selling price is $120.00 per unit and whose variable expense is $46.20 per unit. The company's fixed expense is $405,900 per month. Required: Determine the monthly breakeven in either unit or to..
Score 248/250 Multiple Choice 2 Short 2 Essay 7 Question 1 : (TCO E) Designing a new product is a(n) 2. Question : (TCO G) Given the following data, what would ROI be? Sales $70,000 Net operating income $10,000 Contribution margi..
Score 248/250 Multiple Choice 2 Short 2 Essay 7 Question 1 : (TCO E) Designing a new product is a(n) 2. Question : (TCO G) Given the following data, what would ROI be? Sales $70,000 Net operating income $10,000 Contributi..
Multiple Choice 3 Short 5 Question 1. Question : (TCO D) R..
Essay 4 Multiple Choice 6 Question 1. Question : (TCO B) Assume there is no beginning work in process inventory and the ending work in process inventory is 100% complete with respect to materials costs. The..
CASE 4–20 Ethics and the Manager, Understanding the Impact of Percentage Completion on Profit—Weighted-Average Method [Course Objective B] Gary Stevens and Mary James are production managers in the Consumer Electronics Division of General Electronics Company, which has several dozen plants sc..
This Tutorial contains 6 Sets of Midterm Exam 1. (TCO A) Direct material cost is a part of (Points : 6) Conversion Cost NO.... Prime Cost NO. Conversion Cost YES.... Prime Cost NO. &nbs..
ACCT505 – Managerial Accounting Team Case Study 3 – Week 6 Balanced Scorecard Case (Course Objective G) Many companies are using the Balanced Scorecard System to assist in their performance management. According to Garrison, Noreen, and Brewer (2015) a balanced scorecard “co..
CASE 3–29 Ethics and the Manager [Course Objective B] Terri Ronsin had recently been transferred to the Home Security Systems Division of National Home Products. Shortly after taking over her new position as divisional controller, she was asked to develop the division’s predetermined overhead rat..